Monday, 10 November 2014

The Mime Order
By Samantha Shannon

Goodreads description of The Mime Order:
Paige Mahoney has escaped the brutal penal colony of Sheol I, but her problems have only just begun: many of the fugitives are still missing and she is the most wanted person in London.

As Scion turns its all-seeing eye on Paige, the mime-lords and mime-queens of the city’s gangs are invited to a rare meeting of the Unnatural Assembly. Jaxon Hall and his Seven Seals prepare to take center stage, but there are bitter fault lines running through the clairvoyant community and dark secrets around every corner.

Then the Rephaim begin crawling out from the shadows. But where is Warden? Paige must keep moving, from Seven Dials to Grub Street to the secret catacombs of Camden, until the fate of the underworld can be decided. Will Paige know who to trust? The hunt for the dreamwalker is on.

Welcome Back to Scion
Welcome Back to Scion, indeed. 

There is no question over whether or not you should pick up The Mime Order. It is a MUST. In the 2nd novel in the series, Shannon’s story well and truly settles itself in your memory, gripping you, demanding a place on your ‘favourite’s’shelf.

The Bone Season ended with Paige, the protagonist, escaping Sheol 1. Book 2 picks up immediately following its events so its beginning straight away hauls you in until your white-knuckled gripping the page. It is a lot easier to slip into the second book than it is the 1st. The 1st gave a lot of information to take in but with The Mime Order you can slip right in and feel comfortable without being info-dumped upon.

After the end of The Bone Season, I was a little concerned about how Shannon would keep the storyline running for her predicted 7 books. The 1st is so jam packed and fast paced, I didn’t know how her ideas would stretch out for all those books. Now I have read The Mime Order, I am not at all worried, 7 books seems a lot more realistic now. I’m confident in Shannon’s amazing writing.
Also, 7 BOOKS! Looks like we won’t be saying goodbye to Paige for a while yet, yay!

In The Bone Season we got to experience the inside of Sheol 1 with only flashbacks and a little hint of the Cohort Districts, teasing you almost. The Mime Order introduces a whole new range of places in the Cohorts. Shannon’s world is so vivid and rich, everything is seen so easily in my mind, and so once you start the book it’s very hard to pull yourself back into reality! London in 2059 is so unique, combined with the idea of clairvoyants separated Shannon’s book from anything I have ever read which makes it so special for me.

We get to get to know the other members of The Seven Seals a lot more, which is great as there are some wonderfully imagined characters in the group. Jaxon Hall is an especially brilliant character. He seems to walk the fine line of love and love to hate for me.  Paige is very much cemented as one of my favourite strong heroines now. I have so much respect and love for her after this book. It’s wonderful to read about such an intelligent heroine, you never feel exasperated towards her for being na├»ve for example.

The cover and chapter headers, of course, like the 1st has a meaning within the book, which is always fun to look out for.

If you like The Bone Season and maybe have trouble envisioning the characters, or if you just want to see some cool fanart, check out and The Bone Season wiki. There are amazing drawings to gawk over.

And boys and girls, I would prepare yourself for the ending of this book.

5/5 stars.

Thank you to Bloomsbury for sending me and ARC to review. 

No comments:

Post a Comment